internship
Science and Engineering Apprenticeship Program (SEAP)
Office of Naval Research
An eight-week summer research internship at Department of Navy laboratories.
2027 application deadline
PostedNov 30, 2026
· Check the official page for the exact cutoff time.
Official source ↗Checked 2026-10-28Details
| Cost | Stipend · $4,000. Stipend rates differ for new and returning participants.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceStipends are as follows: New participants: $4,000 Returning participants: $4,500 · View evidenceStipends are set to $4,000 for new participants, $4,500 for returning participants · View evidenceStipends are set to $4,000 for new participants, $4,500 for returning participants |
|---|---|
| Financial aid | Not stated |
| Format | CommuterSource ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceHousing allowances are not provided. Acquiring housing for the duration of the program is the responsibility of the student. |
| Location | Not stated |
| Current grade | Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceSEAP gives academically talented high school sophomores, juniors, and seniors interested in STEM |
| Eligibility | Currently enrolled in high school and completed grade 9; graduating seniors eligible. Normally U.S. citizenship and age 16 by start are required; individual labs may make exceptions.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceHigh school students who have completed at least Grade 9 (see exceptions below) · View evidenceGraduating seniors are eligible to apply Must be 16 years old or older by the internship start date (see exceptions below) Must be a U.S. citizen (see exceptions below) · View evidenceGrade minimum Age minimum Permanent residents and dual citizens |
| Program dates | Eight weeks during the summer; lab-specific dates.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceThe SEAP internship has a duration of eight weeks (with a possible extension up to two additional weeks). |
| Applications open | Sep 15, 2026Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceApplication enrollment for 2027 opens Sept. 15, 2026 |
| 2027 deadline | Nov 30, 2026Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceApply by the Deadline (Sept. 15 – Nov. 30) · View evidenceThe application period closes at 11:59 p.m. Central time on Nov. 30. |
| Last cycle’s date | Not stated |
Checked 2026-10-28. Last cycle’s costs and dates are labeled where applicable. Program pages can change. How we check facts ↗