
Summer program
NASA GeneLab for High Schools
NASA Ames Research Center
Students learn space biology, bioinformatics and computational analysis through an asynchronous online course.
2027 application deadline
Not posted yetNot posted yet
Last cycle’s deadline was Mar 15, 2026. This is a reference, not a 2027 date.
Official source ↗Checked 2026-10-28Details
| Cost | Free. The 2026 program does not offer participant stipends.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceNo, there is no cost for students to participate in the program. · View evidenceNo stipends will be offered for participants beginning with the 2026 program. |
|---|---|
| Financial aid | Not stated |
| Format | OnlineSource ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceRecorded lectures and JupyterLab Notebooks are viewed and completed on students’ own time (self-paced) |
| Location | Online |
| Current grade | Grade 11, Grade 12Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceRising high school juniors and seniors (entering grade 11 or 12) |
| Eligibility | Rising juniors, rising seniors or incoming college freshmen attending US-based high schools; US citizenship or permanent residence; biology coursework, minimum unweighted GPA 3.0 and a computer with stable internet.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceOnly US citizens* and permanent residents (green card) attending US-based high schools · View evidenceor students entering College as freshmen in Fall 2026 · View evidenceParticipants must be able to use a computer with stable internet connection to successfully complete the course · View evidenceHave taken at least one high school biology course · View evidenceMinimum (unweighted) GPA of 3.0 |
| Program dates | June 1 through August 28, 2026; 12 weeksSource ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidencewill run June 1 st through August 28 th , 2026. |
| Applications open | Not stated |
| 2027 deadline | Not posted yet |
| Last cycle’s date | Mar 15, 2026Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceApplications for the 2026 program will open on February 15 and remain open for one month, closing on March 15, or until 1,000 applications are received, whichever occurs first. |
Checked 2026-10-28. Last cycle’s costs and dates are labeled where applicable. Program pages can change. How we check facts ↗