Summer program
Carnegie Mellon Summer Academy for Math and Science (SAMS)
Carnegie Mellon University
A fully funded STEM program combining virtual preparation, a six-week in-person academy, and ongoing virtual engagement.
2027 application deadline
PostedFeb 1, 2027
· Check the official page for the exact cutoff time.
Official source ↗Checked 2026-10-28Details
| Cost | Free. SAMS is a fully funded merit-based program offered at no cost to the student.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceAI Scholars, CS Scholars, and the Summer Academy for Math and Science (SAMS) are fully funded merit based programs that are offered at no cost to the student. · View evidenceAI Scholars, CS Scholars, and the Summer Academy for Math and Science (SAMS) are fully funded merit based programs that are offered at no cost to the student. · View evidenceAI Scholars, CS Scholars, and the Summer Academy for Math and Science (SAMS) are fully funded merit based programs that are offered at no cost to the student. |
|---|---|
| Financial aid | Not stated |
| Format | HybridSource ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidencePart one of the SAMS program occurs prior to the start of the residential program. This is a required virtual Jumpstart |
| Location | Not stated |
| Current grade | Grade 11Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceBe in 11th grade in high school at the time of application submission. |
| Eligibility | Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents, at least 16 by the program start, and in 11th grade when applying.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceBe a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. · View evidenceYou must be 16 years of age by June 26, 2027. |
| Program dates | Virtual June 21–22, 2027; in-person June 26–August 7, 2027.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceIn-Person Program Length June 26 to August 7, 2027 · View evidenceportions of both June 21 & June 22, 2027 |
| Applications open | Not stated |
| 2027 deadline | Feb 1, 2027Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceApplication Deadline February 1, 2027 |
| Last cycle’s date | Not stated |
Checked 2026-10-28. Last cycle’s costs and dates are labeled where applicable. Program pages can change. How we check facts ↗