
competition
Scholastic Art & Writing Awards
The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers
Teens submit original art or writing through regional affiliates for regional and national recognition.
2027 application deadline
Not posted yetNot posted yet
The exact 2027 deadline has not been confirmed here. Check the official page before making plans.
Details
| Cost | Paid · $15. Individual entry; portfolio entry costs $40. Fee waivers available.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceentry fees are $15 for an individual entry and $40 for a portfolio entry · View evidence$15 for an individual entry · View evidenceFee waivers will continue to be available |
|---|---|
| Financial aid | OfferedSource ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceFee waivers will continue to be available |
| Format | Not stated |
| Location | Not stated |
| Current grade | Grade 7, Grade 8, Grade 9, Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceyou must be a teen in grades 7–12, age 13 and up |
| Eligibility | Teens age 13 or older in grades 7–12 who reside in the U.S., its territories or military bases, or Canada except Quebec.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceyou must be a teen in grades 7–12, age 13 and up, and residing in the United States, U.S. territories or military bases, or Canada (excluding Quebec) |
| Program dates | The 2027 season opens October 1, 2026; entry deadlines vary by region and by art or writing category.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceDecember 1, 2026: The first regional entry deadline. Deadlines vary depending on your region. Some are as late as January 4, 2027. |
| Applications open | Oct 1, 2026Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceOctober 1, 2026: The 2027 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards open for entries. |
| 2027 deadline | Not posted yet |
| Last cycle’s date | Not stated |
Checked 2026-10-28. Last cycle’s costs and dates are labeled where applicable. Program pages can change. How we check facts ↗