
competition
National Spanish Exam
American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese
Students take an online Spanish competition assessing vocabulary, grammar, reading, and listening.
2027 application deadline
PostedFeb 1, 2027
· Check the official page for the exact cutoff time.
Official source ↗Checked 2026-10-28Details
| Cost | Paid · $6. Regular student seat; late seats cost $7 and exam-window additions $9. Additional teacher fees may apply.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceOpen Registration: October 15, 2026 – February 1, 2027 Cost per student: $6 · View evidenceLATE Registration: February 2 – 21, 2027 Cost per student: $7 · View evidenceExam Window: February 22 – April 2, 2027* Cost per student: $9 · View evidenceThere is a teacher fee associated with registering for an AATSP Exam. |
|---|---|
| Financial aid | Not stated |
| Format | OnlineSource ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceThe National Spanish Exam (NSE) is an online, motivational competition |
| Location | Online |
| Current grade | Grade 6, Grade 7, Grade 8, Grade 9, Grade 10, Grade 11, Grade 12Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidencethe NSE is a standardized online assessment for grades 6-12 |
| Eligibility | Grades 6–12; teachers register students. February 1 is the regular registration cutoff; late registration runs February 2–21 and emergency additions are available during the exam window.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidencethe NSE is a standardized online assessment for grades 6-12 · View evidenceTeachers may register for the exam during: · View evidenceLast-minute registration will remain available during examination time for emergency add-ons |
| Program dates | Exam administration: February 22–April 2, 2027.Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceExam Window: February 22 – April 2, 2027* |
| Applications open | Oct 15, 2026Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceOpen Registration: October 15, 2026 – February 1, 2027 |
| 2027 deadline | Feb 1, 2027Source ↗Checked 2026-10-28· View evidenceOpen Registration: October 15, 2026 – February 1, 2027 |
| Last cycle’s date | Not stated |
Checked 2026-10-28. Last cycle’s costs and dates are labeled where applicable. Program pages can change. How we check facts ↗